Sri Lanka team name for Bangladesh test tour

Star fly-half Dimuth Karunaratne will once again captain a relatively inexperienced Sri Lankan side in their two-game Test series against Bangladesh later this month.

Selectors named an 18-man squad for the crucial Red Ball series on Wednesday, with a host of key players missing as Sri Lanka chase crucial points for the Test World Championship.

Classy hitter Roshen Silva opted out of the Bangladesh tour, former skipper Angelo Mathews and right-hander Dhananjaya De Silva asked to help Karunaratne atop Sri Lanka’s order.

Karunaratne is currently ranked sixth in the MRF Tires Men’s ICC Test Batsman Rankings and he should provide plenty of runs and experience for a Sri Lankan side entering a crucial Test World Championship period with a series at home against Australia to follow. matches in Bangladesh.

With Suranga Lakmal retired, Lahiru Kumara out and Dushmantha Chameera concentrating on white-ball cricket, Sri Lanka’s couture attack will likely be led by left-arm Vishwa Fernando.

Other tailors included in the team are Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne and uncapped Dilshan Madushanka with Mathews expected to provide plenty of support.

Left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya will lead Sri Lanka’s spin attack, with Ramesh Mendis and Praveen Jayawickrama other options Karunaratne will have at his disposal.

The two-test series begins in Chittagong on May 15, with the series then moving to Dhaka for the second and final test on May 23.

Sri Lanka currently sit fifth in the World Test Championship table, having won two Test matches and drawn two more in the 2021-23 period.

Bangladesh have only won one Test in the same period and sit eighth and currently only sit ahead of England.

Sri Lankan team: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya

About Keith Johnson

Check Also

The Rajasthan Congress will propose the name of the party chairman during its meeting today

Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee members will convene in Jaipur on Saturday for …