Legends League Cricket: LNJ Bhilwara Group Acquires Franchise, Reveals Team Name As Bhilwara Kings

From textiles and fashion to electric vehicle batteries, LNJ Bhilwara Group is set to make its big transition into sports with this investment. The new franchise also revealed their team name as Bhilwara Kings.

LNJ Bhilwara Group joined Adani Group, GMR Group and Manipal Education and Medical Group (MEMG) in recently holding a franchise in Legends League Cricket.

Vivek Khushalani, Founding Chairman, Legends League Cricket quotes that “We welcome Mr. Riju Jhunjhunwala from LNJ Bhilwara Group to join Legends League Cricket.

“When we approached him with this idea, his enthusiasm was such that we knew he was going to be part of our team. We are happy that he finally decided and I thank him once again for all the support.”

The $1.2 billion LNJ Bhilwara Group, a well-known name in Rajasthan known for its clothing and apparel, has recently diversified into batteries for electric vehicles.

Mr. Riju Jhunjhunwala, Chairman of LNJ Bhilwara Group “No sport can ever claim the love and popularity of cricket in our country. I am proud to be part of the Legend clan who have religion as their fan following.

“In my career I’ve watched so many cricketers but it’s a different feeling to be part of the game. I’m really looking forward to this season and many more.”

Earlier, Adani Sportsline and GMR Group had also revealed their squad names and named their team captains in two former Indian openers, who were part of the 2011 World Cup winning squad.

While Adani Sportsline announced that Virender Sehwag will lead his franchise named Gujarat Giants, GMR Group announced that Gautam Gambhir will lead his franchise named India Capitals.

LLC had also announced that former India captain and current BCCI chairman Sourav Ganguly will lead the India Maharajas in an exhibition match against a World Giants side, led by former England captain Eoin Morgan, the September 16.

Besides Ganguly, Morgan, Sehwag and Gambhir, Season 2 will also see Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Dale Steyn, Chris Gayle, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Monty Panesar, among other former Indian and foreign players in action.

The League which is being played for the first time in India is dedicated to the celebration of the 75th anniversary of India’s independence and takes place in India from September 16.

The next edition of the League will see 4 teams compete with the season running from September 16 to October 8 across six cities. The league will be played at the Gardens of Eden in Kolkata, followed by Lucknow, New Delhi, Cuttack and Jodhpur.

The league’s first season, which featured three teams, was played in Oman, with the World Giants winning the title after beating Asia Lions in the final. The third franchise was India Maharajas.

  • Legends League Cricket: Manipal Education and Medical Group enters the cricket arena and acquires a franchise
  • Legends League Cricket and Kapil Dev’s Khushii Foundation team up to champion girls’ education
  • Legends League Cricket: Adani Group and GMR Group reveal franchise names
  • Legends League Cricket: Adani Group and GMR Group acquire a franchise
  • Legends League Cricket Season 2: Full Schedule, Locations, TV Channel, Live Stream Info
  • Legends League Cricket: Gautam Gambhir will play in season 2
  • Legends League Cricket: Watson replaces Gibbs in World Giants squad after fan backlash
  • Legends League Cricket Season 2: Will BCCI allow Pakistani players to play on Indian soil?
  • Legends League Cricket Season 2: Ross Taylor, Lance Klusener & Morne Morkel join the roster
  • Legends League Cricket Season 2 will be held in India, check details
  • Legends League Cricket: Sourav Ganguly, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis will participate in season 2
  • Legends League Cricket Season 2: Start date, full list of players, teams, location, big names to compete

About Keith Johnson

Check Also

The Rajasthan Congress will propose the name of the party chairman during its meeting today

Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee members will convene in Jaipur on Saturday for …